Day County

CourthouseDay County was created in 1880 by the Dakota Territorial Legislature, and named in honor of Merritt H. Day, a pioneer and 1879 Dakota Territory legislator.

In 1886, Webster was officially designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1883, replaced by a new building in 1903 and was rebuilt in 1963 after a devastating fire.

Today, more than 5,588people live in Day County, situated in northeastern South Dakota. Nice municipalities are located within county boundaries, including Andover, Bristol, Butler, Grenville, Lily, Pierpont, Roslyn, Waubay and Webster.

The courthouse is located at 711 West First Street in Webster, and houses several offices:

(605) 345-9500

Clerk of Courts
(605) 345-3771

Director of Equalization
Planning & Zoning

(605) 345-9502

Register of Deeds

(605) 345-9506

Emergency Management

(605) 345-3222

States Attorney
(605) 345-4624

(605) 345-9510

For more details, visit Day County's website.

Webster Area Chamber of Commerce
Address: 1209 Main Street, Suite 1, PO Box 123, Webster, SD 57274
Toll-Free: (888)571-7582
Phone: (605)345-4668
Email: Contact
Designed and Hosted by The Gage Team